The concept of a class/grade/form/cohort within MySchool is used to group of students within a class level. A student must always be enrolled in a class for them to be included in the student user group.
How to access class lists
The access to classes is dependent on your security access levels. In most cases, educators can only view their attributed classes, whereas other higher-level admins can view school levels to which they have access. To view the class lists, then go to Administer, and look for Classes & Students. Equally, under the Quick links search tool, open the magnifying glass and enter the first few letters of the class.
When you open your class management screen, you will have a list of all accessible classes, and filter options to the right. Choose to filter by school level or class level or by the firt few letters of the name.
The year filter is controlled by the permission to time travel. If class teachers do not have this ability activated in their security user group, they may not be able to view historic or future class lists.
Some users may see padlocks instead of student names, this again is to do with security settings and the user does not have the right to view all classes. Contact our support team for assistance with this.
Moving students from class > class
This is possible and best achieved in the student profile on the enrolment tab. For most systems double enrolment is not possible, so make sure the dates do not overlap. The system will not let you save if they do overlap.
What happens when a student leaves a class and then returns to the same class in the same year?
This is not possible, and you will have to enrol the student for the whole year in their initial class. If you take attendance at a class level.
Can I remove the student from the class list in the student class view?
Yes, by pressing the X and saving, you will remove the student from the class. However, this student with no class enrolment will be classed as a 'ghost user'. You will not find them as an active student when using a quick search. Their profile will still be available using the advanced search. Add the student back to an active class for the current year.
We call our courses 'classes', this is confusing.
We hear you. In Myschool the class is used to group students together. Courses are attached to subjects and are the backbone of Myschool assessments, assignments, and attendance. We understand it can be confusing.
Why is the student showing as green or pink in the class list?
The green line represents a future student. They have been added to the class but with a future enrolment date to start. Each night at 00h00 local time, the server updates, and checks enrolment. When the date is achieved, the student should show as normal. The pink students have been withdrawn from the current class.